Amorphous and Complete

Maria Sokolowska
2 min readApr 15, 2021

Best feedback ever.

Obsidian Heart. Photograph by Maria Sokolowska.

“Report in on what the group has said.”

Thrown at me before the breakout room closed. Okay, I know I took notes, but this is one of those challenges that makes me inhale.

So I picked out the key interesting words and put them together. Without the verbs or those other two and three-letter words. Maybe it was like vomit? Maybe it was like when I tip up the lego box on the carpet? Where I pick the Bionicles and leave the small grey singles.

In picking the keywords, including merry-go-round, I reflect on what I heard. I don’t change the original intent; it feels like I keep the integrity of the person’s thought without my lens. I know that in making selection there is already a reflection of myself, but I justify that I’m still showing the key pieces in their unique form. I struggle to understand the thin vein connections between these crystals. I struggle even more to express these without contamination.

The host described my summary as “amorphous and complete.”

These three words opened my imagination. Amorphous before crystallisation. Obsidian is volcanic glass, described as amorphous as the lava cools too quickly to form pretty rock collecting gems. It is transparent in thin section, enabling you to see through it with clarity. It’s sharp and used in modern surgery blades.

A refined tool.

It’s also unstable. Of the moment.

Pumice is also amorphous volcanic glass but full of gas. It’s opaque with holes and used for concrete aggregate and scrubbing dead skin off feet.

Pumice is full of holes which you can see through. It reminds me of Alzheimer brain scans with memories that have dropped through. It also has space for new crystals to form.

Both rocks live together in volcanic Mediterranean islands.
Still evolving between colliding continents.
Feedback without shape that is formed but still changing.
Complete for the moment, but not finished.
Without contamination but a future potential of addition.
To cut or scrub?

--

--

Maria Sokolowska

Life Coach at Glitterball for the Mind exploring changing perspectives and the role of language in our understanding